When the Prime Minister makes recommendations to the states about restriction guidelines relating to COVID-19, each state must then consider how those recommendations will be applied. They are not enforceable in South Australia until the State Coordinator, Commissioner Grant Stevens, enacts a Direction.

The South Australian Directions apply to everyone living in, and entering, South Australia.

A direction is in place regarding the quarantine of international arrivals to South Australia.

Direction details

South Australia is part of a national repatriation plan for returning Australian citizens.

Quarantine fees apply for Australian citizens and residents arriving in South Australia from overseas.

All overseas arrivals who arrive in South Australia directly from an overseas flight are to reside and remain, quarantined and segregated from other persons, at a place determined by an authorised officer for a 14-day period commencing on the date of their arrival in South Australia.

If a person has arrived in South Australia on a connecting flight that originated in the low community transmission zone (the ACT, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia), their quarantine will be determined to have commenced on the date of their arrival in the low community transmission zone.

Eg, if a person arrives on an international flight in New South Wales, stays in that State for 7 days and then takes a connecting flight to South Australia, the person will need to complete 7 days of quarantine after their arrival in South Australia.

This Direction is the latest to be issued and will remain current until it is updated or removed.

Emergency Management (Continuation of Overseas Travel Self-Quarantine) (PDF, 453.0 KB) - 9 September 2020

More information

FAQs related to this Direction are in the Overseas travel self-quarantine section on the Common Questions page.

Page last updated: 14 October 2020