Travel restrictions into the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands, the Maralinga Tjarutja (MT) Lands, Yalata community and other remote Aboriginal communities may remain in place outside of SA Government health and/or emergency directives.

Permit systems remain in place for the APY Lands, MT Lands and Yalata Lands. Non-Anangu are required to abide by these rules and should seek permission and advice in advance from the applicable governing bodies before travelling to these areas.

People should also continue to follow general health advice with regard to COVID-19 safe practices which are detailed at:

There are no longer any South Australian Aboriginal communities subject to restrictions on movement under the Biosecurity (Human Biosecurity Emergency) (Human Coronavirus with Pandemic Potential) Emergency Requirements for Remote Communities) Determination 2020 (the Determination). This was repealed on 10 July 2020.

View the Biosecurity (Human Biosecurity Emergency) (Human Coronavirus with Pandemic Potential) (Emergency Requirements for Remote Communities) Repeal Determination 2020.

More information

If you wish to travel, refer to Travel restrictions.
For more advice and resources see Aboriginal communities.

For further information contact the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787.

Page last updated: 22 December 2020